West Virginia passed a law that will all but force women to carry their rapist baby if they have not 1) reported the rape to the police and B) waited more than 8 weeks to obtain one. And we note for the record that there is only one abortion clinic in the entire eff’ing state, so this law is really aimed at one business, and boy-howdy, I think that might be a different legal problem for them (see Bill of Attainder):
CHARLESTON, W.Va. — West Virginia’s Legislature passed a sweeping abortion ban with few exceptions Tuesday, approving a bill that several members of the Republican supermajority said they hope will make it impossible for the state’s only abortion clinic to continue to offer the procedure.
“It is going to shut down that abortion clinic, of that I feel certain,” Republican Sen. Robert Karnes said on the Senate floor, amid shouts from protesters standing outside the chamber doors. “I believe it’s going to save a lot of babies.”
Under the legislation, rape and incest victims would be able to obtain abortions at up to eight weeks of pregnancy, but only if they report to law enforcement first.
Such victims who are minors would have until 14 weeks to terminate a pregnancy and must report to either law enforcement or a physician.
West Virginia is taking the pole position of being the He-Man Woman-Hater state. It’s not just the misogynists, tho, it’s also the fetus-fondling, gawd-botherers. The Xristians have hated Eve ever since that business with the Apple, but they remain steadfast friends with the Snake. Professional courtesy.